"Refusés of the Bay" group exhibition

Opening Reception: Friday, Sep. 29th, 5-9PM
Showing: September 29 - October 28, 2023

Voss Gallery
3344 24th St.
San Francisco, CA 94110

A collage of contemporary paintings from the "Refusés of the Bay” group exhibition at Voss Gallery, San Francisco.

Voss Gallery and Metal Haus Gallery present “Refusés of the Bay,” a collaborative art project of two curated exhibitions by Bay Area artists whose work was inexplicably overlooked by the jurors of The de Young Open 2023.⁠

“Refusés of the Bay” is a tribute to the 1863 Salon des Refusés, which showcased rejected artwork from the highly acclaimed Paris Salon, featuring a staggering two-thirds of the submitted work that was not initially chosen. This renegade art fair included emerging works from James McNeill Whistler, Édouard Manet, Camille Pissarro, and other world-renowned artists whose careers took off after the show.⁠

This year, the de Young Museum received over 7,700 submissions to its triennial open call for community artists and fewer than 900 were selected. To narrow the gap, Voss Gallery and Metal Haus Gallery are partnering to provide platforms for the work of other exceptional local artists to be shown.

Join us for an Opening Reception on Friday, Sept. 29th, 5-9PM at Voss Gallery followed by an Afterparty at Metal Haus Gallery at 9PM. Both exhibitions will be on view through October 28, 2023. Voss Gallery hours are Wednesday-Saturday, 12-6PM or by appointment. Metal Haus Gallery hours are Friday-Monday by appointment.⁠

Exhibiting artists: Alice Koswara, Amber Allen, Angélica Turner, Anjelica Colliard, Anna Beurskens, Anna Kim, Anthony Grant, Ayesha Samdani, Brandon Joseph Baker, Breno Aragon, Bruce Katz, Charles H. Stinson, Claire Lau, Clare Olivares, Collin Pollard, Dawn Harmer, Deborah Salomon, Dee Tivenan, Elaine Pratt, Ester Tuva, Ferran Torras, Fuzz E Grant, Greta Boesel, Hélène Paulette Côte, Ingrid V. Wells, James Mertke, Jayne Foster, Jeff Bostic, Jennifer Banzaca, Joel Villegas, Joseph Kosdrosky, Josh Stein, Julia LaChica, Justin Teisl, Karen Chan, Karen Johnson, Kelley Finley, Kim Brewer, LE BohemianMuse, Luis Tinoco, Margot Hartford, Mary Campbell, Meg Moriarty, Michele de la Menardiere, Michelle Saputo, Mike Ritch, Mike Sanchez, Mila Moldenhawer, Nancy Husari, Natalia Riveros, Natalie Gabriel, Nicole Hayden, Norman Bonney, Pauline Crowther Scott, Randy Titchenal, Renée Switkes, Rinat Goren, Robert Bowen, Sabin Filip, Sara Eberhart, Shannon Abbey, Shannon Glasheen, Sharon Virtue, Soad Kader, Sofia Venegas, Some Lady, Sonia Gill, Steve Javiel, Susan R. Kirshenbaum, Suzanne Slatcher, Tara Esperanza, Tatiana Carvalho, Taylor Stoneman, The CollabLab, Tom Colcord, Usha Shukla, Vibrata Chromodoris, Victoria Veedell, and Wen Xing.